‘Batik Jewels’ Quilt…

This months challenge was to create a Modern quilt, using anything from the box of gorgeous fabrics given to me by Island batik, I was super excited to use fabrics from my ‘surprise’ bundle of goodies, a new collection called ‘ all a flutter’,  I love blues, pinks and purples, the lovely Auriful threads went together so beautifully

dsc_2242.jpg

So what makes a quilt, Modern…

      • the use of bold colors and prints
      • high contrast and graphic areas of solid color
      • improvisational piecing
      • Minimalism
      • expansive negative space

Modern Batik Challeng

I chose the three most striking colours and used these to create the over-sized diamonds

 

I quilted over the diamonds to add a sparkle effect, to create jewels

 

Once the quilt was quilted using the beautifully soft batting from HOBBS (heirloom premium cotton batting) and binding was sewn on, I preferred the reverse of the quilt, somehow the striking colours are just stunning…

Which side is your favourite?

 

Thanks so much for reading, be sure to look out for issue 59 Of Quilt Now Magazine, due out 7th February 2019! (wow so far away i hear you say… it will be worth the wait 😉 ) for my full tutorial on how to make this quilt

Happy Sewing

x creative blonde x

 

11 thoughts on “‘Batik Jewels’ Quilt…

Leave a comment