Batik hexi Shadow Quilt…

This months island batik ambassador challenge was try something new… the products featured in this post were given to me by Island Batik.

Try a Technique

I’ve never made a shadow quilt. So I decided to make a hexi shadow quilt. After spending a few hours working out the measurements, I got my few blocks made. Now i just had to decided which of beautiful batiks i was going to use… after much umming and ahhing i chose the lovely ‘Paisley Dot – Earth Tones’ to use for the shadows, and the gorgeous fat quarter bundle of ‘Autumns Grace’ for the hexagons. I love this collection, and i knew this lay out, would really showcase the fabrics, especially as i fussy cut my favorite bits

_20180316_092610

After adding all the shadows, this one ended up being my favorite

DSC_0883

I quilted this using Vilene 280 low volume fleece. I quilted around each hexagon, to make them pop! The backing is the lush Paisley Dot – Chartreuse. and the lovely neutral throughout the quilt is Paisley Dot – Almond.

 

My batik hexi shadow quilt, was all sewn together using Aurifil Moonstone 6724

DSC_0901

I’ve really enjoyed making this quilt, i love how each fabric design is showing its true beauty.

Huge thank you for reading, please leave me a like, and comments make my day

happy sewing

x creativeblonde x

GIVEAWAY!! read on…

DSC_0899

 I realized I have enough hexi blocks to giveaway to someone, they are just too beautiful not to share, so if you love Batiks, enter my giveaway to win a collection of 16 prints 7″ squares, so you can make your very own Island Batik hexi shadow quilt.

To enter:
1️⃣ Follow me here on my blog or over on Instragram @creativeblonde66.
2️⃣ Like this post
3️⃣ Follow @island_batik
4️⃣ Tag your batik loving sewing friends on Instagram for extra entries

Good Luck, I will choose a winner at random Saturday 24th March.

 

11 thoughts on “Batik hexi Shadow Quilt…

Leave a comment